A list of gluten free foods and ingredients.
A Small List Of Gluten Free Foods.
Start learning from this Gluten Free Food Lists and get on track to a healthier GF lifestyle.
It was 7 years ago that I got off gluten, but it was a long and hard road for me to get on track. My family doctor said to me at the age of 18 that I would have an ulcer by the time I was 20 due to stomach problems and acid reflux and blamed it on stress while giving me more pills to take. I had the basic IBS symptoms and bloating to the point that I could put on 8 pounds in a day. I was always tired, catching the common cold easily and just having a feeling of poor health. Finally I went to an ND (Naturopathic Doctor) who diagnosed me with Gluten Intolerance, I was totally clueless about what to do. I would jump for joy to find something labeled gluten free, picture a grown man doing this in a local grocery store. Most of the products that I found were not that great tasting, dry mostly and not very healthy either. They had lots of refined sugars and starches, with loads of calories. I went from losing 35 pounds in a months and then placing it back slowly. After lots of reading, long hours standing in a grocery store reading ingredients and then creating my own recipes became my past time. Today I make very healthy meals all GF, low calorie and now I feel 100% better. Soon I will be selling my best recipes online with my favourite products. My goal is to make being Gluten Free as easy as not being GF.
*To be safe always look for the Gluten Free Symbol
Gluten free foods will include:
Here is a list of gluten free foods, which include foods that are made with theses grains, instead of wheat, rye or barley:
- Bean Flours
- Millet and Millet flour
- Nut Flours like Almond Meal
- Potato, All varieties
- Brown Rice and Brown Rice Flour
- Wild Rice
- Soy, being non GMO soy or non GMO soy flour
- Steel Cut Oats are Gluten-Free
A beginner’s list of Gluten Free Foods by Product:
Please feel free to contact me if your not sure your brand is GF.
Things to look into when seeing an ingredient called Modified Cornstarch or Modified food starch.
You should check with each individual company to find out what is added to their “modified corn starch” & “modified food starch”, sometimes it is modified with wheat, but not always. That is what makes it a questionable ingredient. By saying this not all modified ingredients are gluten, for example Modified Milk Ingredients is gluten free. Again be sure to call the company or ask the question on my blog.
Butter. Naturally gluten free if there are no additives, otherwise check with the company.
Milk. Naturally gluten free if there are no additives, otherwise check with the company.
Cream. Naturally gluten free if there are no additives, otherwise check with the company.
Buttermilk. Naturally gluten free if there are no additives, otherwise check with the company.
Cheese and cheese spreads. Cheese by itself should be naturally gluten free unless something was added.
Cheese alternative. Try looking for gluten free labels to be sure.
Cottage Cheese. Also need to check for other ingredients, unless it states gluten free.
Eggs and Egg Substitutes. Always look for gluten free labels on eggs substitutes.
Half & Half. Naturally gluten free but always look for additives.
Hummus is a great source of protein. Naturally gluten free.
Margarine and Spreads. look for gluten free brands only.
Milk Chocolate. Always look for gluten free brands here. Very often you may find gluten ingredients
Sour Cream. Most of the time sour cream is naturally gluten free unless something else was added, so look for other ingredients.
Soymilk is on top of gluten free food lists. Not my choice of food for many reasons, but naturally gluten free but look for gluten free brands because often will find gluten ingredients.
Yogurt is part of gluten free food list. Very often now you may find wheat and gluten in yogurts, so look only for gluten free brands.
Most carbonated drinks. Always look for gluten free label here. Quite often you will find wheat flour additives, but Canada Dry is a refreshing gluten-free soft drink.
Coffee drinks and mixes. Same for coffee drinks, you need to look for gluten free brands, but coffee by itself is a naturally gluten free product.
Chocolate Drinks. These have to be verified with the company or just go with gluten free brand.
Apple Cider is on top of gluten free food lists. Naturally gluten free food. Also great to naturalize acid reflux.
Creamers and Flavorings. Always look for gluten free brands here.
Energy Drinks. You want to make sure that there is no additives with wheat or gluten.
Flavored Water. Most of the time it’s gluten free unless wheat or wheat products were added.
Hot Cocoa and Chocolate Mixes. Many brands have gluten free labels for hot chocolate, but original hot chocolate recipes were gluten free.
Juice Drink Mixes. Most drink mixes won’t have gluten but always read the labels.
Juice and Fruit Drinks. Same would go here.
Smoothies and shakes. If you make it at home from homemade ingredients then you know it is gluten free. Otherwise, look for gluten free labels.
Sport Drinks. Most of these are gluten free but always read labels.
Protein Powder. Make sure they have a gluten free labeled.
Tea and Tea Drinks and Mixes. Look for ingredients in the mixes. If not sure, get a gluten free box.
Baking Chips and Bars. Chocolate baking chips or bars are naturally gluten free but look for ingredients like wheat, rye or wheat products, etc…
Baking Mixes. Always buy gluten free baking mixes. There are no options here.
Baking Soda and Powder. Naturally gluten free, but even here look for other ingredients just in case.
Cocoa Powder. If only cocoa powder is the only ingredient.
Coconut. Naturally gluten free.
Corn Syrup. Look for gluten free label because it can have gluten ingredients.
Cornmeal is on top of gluten free foods list. Naturally gluten free flour substitute for gluten free diet.
Flax Meal is a part of gluten free foods list. Naturally gluten free product. Make sure there no other ingredients added.
Flours and Flour Mixes. Only gluten free flours and four mixes are your choices here. I love Bob’s, Storybook and Trader’s Joe gluten free mixes.
Food Coloring. Look for other ingredients to make sure or just get gluten free product.
Frosting. Quite often you will find gluten containing ingredients in frostings, so if you really don’t know choose Betty Crocker Vanilla Rich & Creamy Frosting which is considered gluten free product, but read the ingredients.
Honey. Naturally gluten free unless cross contaminated. Check labels.
Marshmallow. Always look for gluten free labels when getting marshmallows.
Milk. Naturally gluten free food.
Molasses. Only gluten free brands.
Oil and Oil Spray. Most of oil is gluten free unless there was cross contamination.
Pectin. Look for other ingredients.
Rice Syrup. Gluten free.
Spices. Look for gluten free brands.
Sprinkles. Only gluten free brands.
Sugar. Naturally gluten free product. A natural Low calorie or zero calories sweetener substitute is Stevia.
Starches. Cornstarch is naturally gluten free.
Whole Grains. Only go with gluten free whole grains like brown rice, quinoa, buckwheat, arrowroot, etc.
Yeast. Look for gluten free brands.
Bouillon. Look for gluten free brands.
Broth. Look for GF labels.
Chilli. Look for gluten free unless you made it yourself.
Cranberry Sauce. Naturally gluten free food, but double check ingredients.
Fruit. All fruits are naturally gluten free.
Meat. There is no gluten in the meat.
Seafood. Natural seafood has no gluten. Imitation seafood always has gluten ingredients.
Soups. Look for gluten free labels.
Stews. Look for gluten free labels.
Tomato Paste. Should be gluten free, but check ingredients.
Vegetables. Naturally gluten free.
Bread. When looking for gluten free bread, you have to only get bread with a GF label. We like gluten free bread options like Glutino or ask about my Gluten Free Bread.
Cereals And Granola. Only gluten free cereals and gluten free granola are your gluten free options.
Pasta and Noodles. Only gluten free brands. e.g. Rice pasta or corn.
Pizza Crust. Only gluten free pie crust or ask about my GF pizzas.
Polenta. Naturally gluten free or ask about my products.
Potato. Naturally gluten free.
Rice and Rice Mixes. Look for brown rice and gluten free.
Taco Shells. Naturally gluten free but look for GF label or ingredients.
Tortillas and Wraps. The gluten alternative would have brown rice flour.
Barbeque Sauce. Look for gluten free brands.
Tamari Sauce. Make sure that there’s no added wheat.
Chocolate Syrup. Naturally gluten free unless other ingredients added.
Dip and Dip Mixes. Always look for gluten free options.
Horseradish. Naturally gluten free food but double check the ingredients.
VH soy sauce. Should be gluten free, but check ingredients.
Hot Sauce. Look for gluten free brands.
Jams, Jellies and Preserves. Always look for gluten free options.
Ketchup. Heinz is gluten free.
Marinades. Look for gluten free brands.
Mayonnaise. Only gluten free brands.
Mustard. Look for other ingredients to make sure or just get gluten free product.
Nut Butter. Naturally gluten free, but some companies add other ingredients including wheat flour.
Olives. Naturally gluten free food.
Peppers. Naturally gluten free food.
Pickles. Naturally gluten free food.
Picante Sauce. Try looking for gluten free labels.
Salad Dressing. Only gluten free brands.
Salsa. Most of the salsa brands are gluten free.
Sauerkraut. Sauerkraut is naturally gluten free and really good for you. Most of the brands do not add wheat ingredients.
Steak Sauce. Always read the labels and make sure there’s no barley syrup added.
Taco Sauce. Only gluten free brands.
Vinegar. Naturally gluten free food.
Worcestershire Sauce. Look for gluten free labels.
Applesauce. Always read the labels and make sure there’s no barley syrup added.
Beef Jerky. Look for gluten free labels.
Candy and Chocolate. Most of the chocolate is gluten free but read the ingredients.
Cheese Puffs. Check the ingredients.
Chips and Crisps. Look for gluten free labels.
Crackers. Look for gluten free labels.
Fruits. Naturally gluten free food.
Dried Fruit. Naturally gluten free food. Always read the ingredients.
Fruit Cups. Read the ingredients. Some companies add barley syrup or wheat starch.
Gum. Read the ingredients.
Nuts, Seeds and Mixes. Nuts and seeds are naturally gluten free but mixes can have bits and pieces of wheat pretzels or wheat rods.
Popcorn. Read labels.
Pretzels. Look for gluten free labels.
Pudding. Look for gluten free labels.
Rice Cakes. Look for gluten free labels.
Baby Juice. Naturally gluten free. But always double check.
Frozen Yogurts. Read the ingredients.
Ice Cream. Look for gluten free labels since some companies add wheat ingredients. Champmans is GF.
Frozen Foods. Look for gluten free labels.
Potatoes. Naturally gluten free food.
Bacon. Look for gluten free labels. Some brands add wheat starch.
Chicken. Naturally gluten free food.
Bologna. Check the ingredients. Some brands add wheat flour or starch.
Hot Dogs. Always check the labels.
Salami. Look for gluten free labels.
Sausage. Look for gluten free labels.
Tofu and Tempeh. Most of the time tofu and tempeh are gluten free. But always verify.
Turkey. Naturally gluten free food/meat.
Fish. Naturally gluten free food.
A list of general ingredients that contain gluten:
Ale/Beer, Brown rice syrup, Canned baked beans, Cereal additives, Condiments made with grain alcohol4 , Dextrin, Duram, Einkorn, Emmer, Emulsifiers, Excipients, far, farina, distilled vinegar, Cooking sprays that contain grain, Fillers, Fried food in restaurants (unless fried in own bins), Gluten stabilizers, Graham, Granary, Herbal teas made with malted barley, Hydrolyzed Plant Protein (HPP), Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein (HVP), Kamut, Mir, Modified food starch, Most white pepper, Oat gum, Oatrim, Oils not pure, Olestra, Packaged pudding, Replace, Some alcohol based extracts, Some canned tuna, Some cheese spreads and dips, Some colourings, Some commercial candies, Some commercial salad dressings, Some corn syrups, Some flavorings, some ground spices, Some ice creams, some mustard powder, Some preservatives and some sherbets.
All of the symbols used in this post are used on products to indicate that they are gluten-free.