The Unsafe Food List (Unsafe Ingredients Containing Gluten)

The Unsafe Food List (Unsafe Ingredients Containing Gluten)

The wheat, barley, rye, and their derivatives.  These are all unsafe for people with celiacs and gluten intolerance. 

 

 

Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum)

Alcohol (Spirits – Specific Types)

Amp-Isostearoy Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein

Atta Flour

Barley Grass (can contain seeds)

Barley Hordeum vulgare

Barley Malt

Beer (most contain barley or wheat)

Bleached Flour

Bran

Bread Flour

Brewer’s Yeast

Brown Flour

Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts)

Bulgur Wheat

Cereal Binding

Chilton

Club Wheat (Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum) Common Wheat (Triticum aestivum)

Cookie Crumbs

Cookie Dough

Cookie Dough Pieces

Couscous

Criped Rice

Dinkle (Spelt)

Disodium Wheatgermamido Peg-2 Sulfosuccinate

Durum wheat (Triticum durum)

Edible Coatings

Edible Films

Edible Starch

Einkorn (Triticum monococcum)

Emmer (Triticum dicoccon)

Enriched Bleached Flour

Enriched Bleached Wheat Flour

Enriched Flour

Farina

Farina Graham

Farro

Filler

Flour (normally this is wheat)

Fu (dried wheat gluten)

Germ

Graham Flour

Granary Flour

Groats (barley-wheat)

Hard Wheat

Heeng

Hing

Hordeum Vulgare Extract

Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten

Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein

Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Pg-Propyl Silanetriol

Hydrolyzed Wheat starch

Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein

Kamut (pasta wheat)

Kecap Manis (Soy Sauce)

Ketjap Manis (Soy Sauce)

Kluski Pasta

Maida (Indian wheat flour)

Malt

Malted Barley Flour

Malted Milk

Malt Extract

Malt Syrup

Malt Flavoring

Malt Vinegar

Macha Wheat (Triticum-aestivum)

Matza

Matzah

Matzo

Matzo Semolina

Meringue

Meripro 711

Mir

Nishasta

Oriental Wheat (Triticum turanicum)

Orzo Pasta

Pasta

Pearl Barley

Persian Wheat (Triticum carthlicum)

Perungayam

Poulard Wheat (Triticum turgidum)

Polish Wheat (Triticum polonicum)

Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used) Roux

Rusk

Rye

Seitan

Semolina

Semolina Triticum

Shot Wheat (Triticum aestivum)

Small Spelt

Spirits (Specific Types)

Spelt (Triticum spelta)

Sprouted Wheat or Barley

Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein

Strong Flour

Suet in Packets

Tabbouleh

Tabouli

Teriyaki Sauce

Timopheevi Wheat (Triticum timopheevii)

Triticale X triticosecale

Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids

Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract

Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil

Udon (wheat noodles)

Unbleached Flour

Vavilovi Wheat (Triticum aestivum)

Vital Wheat Gluten

Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum)

Wheat amino acids

Wheat Bran Extract

Bulgur Wheat

Wheat Durum Triticum

Wheat Germ Extract

Wheat Germ Glycerides

Wheat Germ Oil

Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed

Wheat Protein

Wheat Grass (can contain seeds)

Wheat Nuts

Wheat Triticum aestivum

Wheat Triticum Monococcum

Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Bran Extract

Whole-meal Flour

Wild Einkorn (Triticum boeotictim)

Wild Emmer (Triticum dicoccoides)

 

The following items may or may not contain gluten conditionally upon where and how they are made or purchased, and it is sometimes necessary to check with the manufacturer to find out:

 

Artificial Colour

Baking powder

Caramel Colour

Caramel Flavouring

Clarifying Agents

Colouring

Dextrins

Dextrimaltose

Dry Roasted Nuts

Emulsifiers

Enzymes

Fat Replacer

Flavouring

Food Starch

Food Starch Modified

Glucose Syrup

Gravy Cubes

Ground Spices

HPP

HVP

Hydrolyzed Plant Protein

Hydrolyzed Protein

Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein

Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate

Hydroxypropylated Starch

Maltose

Miso

Mixed Tocopherols

Modified Food Starch

Modified Starch

Natural Flavouring

Natural Flavours

Natural Juices

Non-dairy Creamer

Pregelatinized Starch

Protein Hydrolysates

Seafood Analogs

Seasonings

Sirimi

Smoke Flavouring

Soba Noodles

Soy Sauce

Soy Sauce Solids

Sphingolipids

Stabilizers

Starch

Stock Cubes

Suet

Tocopherols

Vegetable Broth

Vegetable Gum

Vegetable Protein

Vegetable Starch

Vitamins

Wheat Starch